Utah residents can now receive medical marijuana as a treatment for their medical conditions. State-licensed doctors can recommend their patients for medical marijuana and issue a written recommendation that allows them to apply for a medical marijuana card.
To obtain a medical marijuana card, patients must go through a number of steps for getting approved. Here is a quick checklist of the things you will have to keep in mind when applying for your Utah medical marijuana card:
Check the Patient Requirements
To be able to apply for a medical marijuana card, you must meet a set of requirements.
- You must be a resident of Utah and be able to present proof of residency
- You must be 18 years of age or older (or have a caregiver or legal guardian with a valid medical marijuana card)
- You must suffer from a qualifying medical condition
Whether you are a patient or caregiver, you must meet the conditions stated above.
Get Evaluated by a Doctor
Medical marijuana is a term used to refer to derivatives of the Cannabis plant. These components are used to ease symptoms of a number of medical and psychological conditions. While U.S. federal law prohibits the use of the whole Cannabis plant for medical use, many states allow the subderivative THC to be used.
Medical marijuana is deemed appropriate for several medical conditions. While state laws do vary with regard to the manner in which they can be used, you may qualify for treatment if you meet certain requirements and you have a qualifying condition such as:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Chron’s Disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Severe or chronic pain
- Severe nausea or vomiting due to cancer treatments
The first step in getting a medical marijuana card is scheduling a medical evaluation. A doctor must consult you and determine whether your symptoms could actually benefit from medical marijuana treatment. Without a written recommendation, you will not be able to apply for a card. Your initial consultation is a great time to ask questions and obtain information related to remaining within compliance while you are under treatment.
Register With the State of Utah
After your initial consultation is complete, you’ll need to register with the state of Utah and submit a medical card application online. Once that has been submitted, your doctor will be notified and will issue a recommendation or rejection for cannabis treatment. If approved, you’ll revisit your application profile to pay a small state application fee and submit an online application for state approval.
Get Approved by the State of Utah
The state of Utah will process your application, issuing both a hard and digital copy of your approval. Once you have your card in hand and online, you may begin purchasing from medical marijuana dispensaries. The state of Utah requires that you re-certify your license yearly by seeing a licensed medical marijuana doctor for re-evaluation.
Things to Know About Your Medical Marijuana Card
Once you have obtained your medical marijuana card in Utah, you will be able to purchase medical marijuana products from a licensed dispensary. You or your caregiver may only purchase the amount stated on your prescription. You may not administer or distribute the medical marijuana supply prescribed to you to other patients.
Registered patients may only purchase up to a 30-day supply. That is no more than 113 grams of unprocessed cannabis (flower), and no more than 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms.
If you are in the process of getting your medical marijuana card, make sure that you are aware of all the steps you will need to take to have your application approved. Once you get your medical marijuana card, you will have to respect all the requirements imposed by the state of Utah. When you attend your first medical evaluation, don’t hesitate to ask your detector any questions you may have about how to get medical marijuanas cards Salt Lake City, Utah.