Skip to content
Home » Everything You Need To Know About Compensation Insurance in Pennsylvania

Everything You Need To Know About Compensation Insurance in Pennsylvania

Know About Compensation Insurance in Pennsylvania

The ever-growing concern about protecting workers’ interests has gained significant hype recently. Workers’ compensation insurance is exceptional for business owners and employees, Providing much-needed peace of mind and workplace security. 

The fifth-most populous state in the US, Pennsylvania is home to 13 million people. Studies have suggested that over 148 fatal work injuries were recorded in Pennsylvania in 2020. It indicates why businesses must indulge in compensation insurance and protect themselves from lawsuits if any worker gets injured. 

Know About Compensation Insurance in Pennsylvania

You must have a workers’ compensation policy if you have at least one person on your payroll. The mandate would still be in effect whether your employee worked full-time, part-time, or seasonal. If you don’t buy the policy, you could be subject to thousands of dollars in fines and potentially severe legal action from the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry.

Most workers’ compensation cases finish on an average of 18 months in PA. The compensation received under workers’ compensation acts is not taxable in PA. Occupational disease acts are not taxable.

How Much Would You Pay For The Insurance?

Your Pennsylvania workers’ compensation rate is influenced by several aspects, including the nature of your firm, the quality of your safety record, and your location. Having stated that, the size of your payroll will be the primary consideration for insurance companies when calculating your rate.

The more staff you have, the higher your payroll is. The likelihood that an employee would have an injury at work and need to submit a workers’ compensation claim increases with the number of employees you have.

It’s crucial to classify your workers to reduce workers’ compensation costs. Employees with less-risk jobs pay very little for insurance. You can avoid misclassification fines by doing this as well. Small business owners occasionally have the option of purchasing pay-as-you-go workers’ compensation.

The upfront cost of this kind of workers’ compensation insurance is inexpensive, and you can base your payments on your actual payroll rather than an estimated one. Businesses that recruit seasonal staff or have shifting employee counts can benefit from it. Compensation rates are calculated based on statewide average weekly wages (AWW). It is generally two third of the AWW in PA.

According to studies, close to 41,000 injured workers received long-term disability benefits for partial or total wage loss in 2015 in PA. Keeping up with safety at your workplace is also crucial for having a low-cost insurance policy. You can populate a well-documented safety guide that aims at preventing possible accidents at the workplace. 

Insurance Coverage And Exemption

To qualify for worker’s compensation in PA, the employer must inform the insurance provider about all the injuries immediately or within 120 days. Workers’ compensation will also cover pre-existing conditions that get worse on the job or occupational diseases that can be linked to toxins in the workplace.

Workers’ compensation insurance has little to no restrictions. A major occupational accident that leaves the victim permanently disabled or disabled may entitle the dependents to lifelong financial support in the form of full or partial disability compensation.

Workers’ compensation covers many circumstances, but not all of them are. It won’t, for instance, cover mishaps during your employees’ commutes. It would also not cover work-related injuries sustained due to employee intoxication or drug usage. Workers’ compensation does not cover these situations, but other liability insurance does. 

Wrapping Up

Workers’ compensation insurance can be considered a checkbox that each business owner in Pennsylvania must tick to comply with the state’s laws. You and your business partner are exempted from getting workers’ compensation insurance. 

Additionally, if the employee files a lawsuit for damages after suffering injuries, the uninsured company exposes itself to legal action. The damages frequently awarded exceed what the company would have had to pay for workers’ compensation insurance. Thus, opting for dedicated business insurance is the better choice employers can make.